Elliott Bay Leisure And Music Club Podcast #20

Elliott Bay Leisure And Music Club Podcast #20 by Brad Muller on Mixcloud

Podcast Title:  Hen freakin’ hao

Podcast Description:  Podcast 20 kicks off with a burner and just does not let up.  Must say that there are bands on here that haven’t proved to have a lot of legs, but for a brief period in the early Aughts, their flame burned bright and some of their finest work is captured here.  What happened to you Jet, Franz and YYY’s?  As usual, we dig deep for some classic deep cuts from INXS, Prince and David Byrne, and this ‘cast contains the all-time highest rated EBLAMC track from the Sneaker Pimps…another lost soul.  Not sure if I’d dial up these particular zeros and ones for an intimate dinner party, but it does make a perfect companion for a road trip, BBQ or group sing-a-long in the shower. (John I.)

Listen to or download the Elliott Bay Leisure And Music Club Podcast #20


Vampire Lezbos Reissue in Stores Today!


Reissue of 1988 debut by Vampire Lezbos in stores today!

What the critics are saying: “Fast and angry but with more rock’n’roll vibe.” – Razorcake

“…top notch hardcore… “ – Ugly Things magazine

Get on down to your local record store or order online.

Garage-punk road warriors Vampire Lezbos, spawned in the scary reactionary police state city of Spokane, WA in the early 80s, became the most noteworthy punk band from that time and place. This thrashing and howling, yet politically compassionate initial LP made inroads in the rock underground for a band that wore its scarred heart on its sleeve, gaining them comrades and live shows and tours with DOA, Fugazi, and Nirvana (VL actually played at Nirvana’s first show with that band’s new name). It would take the band into the punk world internationally, land the VLs at CBGBs, and find performing for over 3000 people with Circle Jerks and 7 Seconds in New Jersey.

For the full-length “Vampire Lezbos,” everything was captured as hot and ferocious as one of their beloved chaotic club shows. The eponymous release featured a strong collection of tracks written between their birth in 1984 up until the then-new stormer “So What,” freshly laid down for the debut.

Vampire Lezbos had solidified the live line-up by the time of their first album, which featured Dave Whiting (lead vocal and guitar), Jon Swanstrom (vocals/guitar), Spot (bass), and Dave Delong (drums). Whiting says, “Jon and I were the two hold-overs from our first 1985 tour so could be considered ‘the core’ main songwriters on this album, and live band organizers and tour initiators. With the addition of this new solid rhythm section, coupled with two solid guitar players, I think we felt the most musically powerful than we ever had in the past. I’m sure this somehow translated to our live shows.”

On the long-awaited and remastered deluxe reissue of the “Vampire Lezbos” Whiting says, “I think our first record finally gave the people a legitimate and tangible release to own, after a few limited edition DIY cassette releases. It also showed clubs and promoters that we were in fact a ‘serious’ band that had some history and worthy of headlining. After almost four years as a band and three U.S./Canada tours without an official release, people who liked the Lezbos were very excited to finally have our first LP in their hands. We achieved success with this album and it quickly sold out across America and Europe. Fans will be excited to finally have this back out on CD, with the additional bonus material featuring our 1986 singer, Rob Westergard, which has never been officially released.”

Track Listing:
* Featured tracks

1. Plasma*
2. Cop Magnet
3. Monkey*
4. Stop Killing The Seals*
5. So What
6. Reds Use Poison Gas
7. Ogon Warrior
8. It Hurts*
9. Phone Soliciter (sic)
10. What The Fucks
11. Queen Spuma
12. Worm
13. Macho Fag

Bonus tracks:

14. It Hurts
15. Monkey
16. Plasma
17. Macho Fag
18. Worm
19. Mike’s Family
20. Phone Solicitor
21. What The Fucks
22. Disease
23. Gonad Warrior

(Bonus tracks are alternate versions and extras from a DIY cassette release for 1986 national tour.)

Elliott Bay Leisure And Music Club Podcast #19

Elliott Bay Leisure And Music Club Podcast #19 by Brad Muller on Mixcloud

Podcast Title:  Asswhippin’

Podcast Description:  I grew up in an era where Top 40 radio was King ,and had to wait until my sister came home from college in the summer to hear something  cutting edge…still remember her dropping the needle on Outlandos d’Amour and blowing my 12 year-old mind.  Now I watch my own 12 year-old with limitless access to music from all of time and wonder what will become his Roxanne.  In an effort to help him separate the wheat from the chaff and help him find a cool path in his music life, am gonna be playing EBLAMC podcast# 19 for him (subliminally of course, who likes what Dad likes?) for the next couple of weeks cause it has so many awesome artists playing some really interesting songs.  No question that #19 is a highlight in the EBLAMC oeuvre, and one that is a primer to cool.  (John I.)

Listen to or download the EBLAMC Podcast 19 here